number.wiki
Number
48
48 is a composite number, even, a calendar year.
48 (forty-eight) is an even 2-digit number. It is a composite number with 10 divisors, and factors as 2⁴ × 3. Its proper divisors sum to 76, more than the number itself, making it an abundant number. Written other ways, in Roman numerals it is XLVIII and in binary, 110000.
Abundant Number Evil Number Harshad / Niven Highly Abundant Highly Composite Number Pernicious Number Practical Number Recamán's Sequence Semiperfect Number Year
Interestingness
6 notable facts · grade B
less more
Historical context — 48 AD
Calendar year
AD 48 (XLVIII) was a leap year starting on Monday of the Julian calendar.
Notable events — 48 BC
  1. Aug 9 Caesar defeats Pompey decisively at Pharsalus.
Year facts
Year type
[...]
Continued fraction of √n
√48 = [6; (1, 12)]
Representations
In words
forty-eight
Ordinal
48th
Roman numeral
XLVIII
Binary
110000
Octal
60
[...]
48° ≈ 0.838 rad
Compass bearing: NE (northeast)
Historical numeral systems
Babylonian (base 60)
𒌋𒌋𒌋𒌋𒁹𒁹𒁹𒁹𒁹𒁹𒁹𒁹
Egyptian hieroglyphic
𓎆𓎆𓎆𓎆𓏺𓏺𓏺𓏺𓏺𓏺𓏺𓏺
Greek (Milesian)
μηʹ
Mayan (base 20)
𝋢·𝋨
Chinese
四十八
Chinese (financial)
肆拾捌
In other modern scripts
Eastern Arabic ٤٨ Devanagari ४८ Bengali ৪৮ Tamil ௪௮ Thai ๔๘ Tibetan ༤༨ Khmer ៤៨ Lao ໔໘ Burmese ၄၈
π — Pi (π)
Digit 48 = 7
e — Euler's number (e)
Digit 48 = 9